Recycle Recycle Recycle

As a runner, I have gone through a whole bunch of running shoes.  And I’ve often wondered about how to recycle them.  I know that there are some places that, for lack of a better word, upcycle them.  But I’ve always been a little wary of doing this, if only because I really wear these shoes out.  I have guilt/concerns about the idea that I would be “upcycling” something that was not in great shape.  (I also have guilt/concerns about how much garbage I produce, but that is a conversation for another time.) This brings me to what spurred this post.  Nike recycles shoes.  This I knew because I had seen this list.  BUT. There are drop off locations!!!!   How have I not known about this??!!!    Is it too 2009 to *Facepalm* myself?

2 thoughts on “Recycle Recycle Recycle

  1. Interesting … well I guess its in Nike’s best interest to get those shoes back from you so they can sell you more of them 🙂 None the less, that’s great that there is an avenue for REALLY worn shoes ….

    • Hi drew, I have no doubt that there is more than altruism going on here. 🙂 But I’ll take a little honest self-interest over misleading selflessness any day.

Leave a Reply

