How to Keep a Geek on a Treadmill

I suppose it is good to know that somethings never change. For instance, running on a treadmill is just as dreadfully boring as I remember. The only thing I like about the treadmill is being able to keep a close eye on my pace. That and the bathrooms are close by. What?! I’m no good at squatting and, you know, cities frown on that kind of thing.

There are all kinds of tricks for staying occupied on the treadmill. I still remember one of my longer runs when I was training for my first (and only) marathon. I had to run on a treadmill and as luck would have it there was a show on ESPN about the old stadium at Foxboro for the New England Patriots. No I’m not being sarcastic. It was interesting. All kinds of things went wrong, plumbing issues, vender issues. It was detailed enough to distract me but not so detailed that I had to really pay attention. 7 miles on a treadmill and I learned that before the opening game they were afraid the toilets would explode if too many folks flushed at the same moment. Good times.

Leave a Reply

