Face the Music Monday

I know that today is usually a report on the weight-loss progress and the promise pictures to come. Today, however, I cannot locate a scale anywhere have only just confirmed the presence of a scale in the weight-room (thanks Scott!) and the pictures are going to have to wait until Wednesday, when JD joins us.  (I’ve told my some of my family about the diet, but none of them know about the blog.) In lieu of the regularly scheduled program, I thought I would offer up a report of how I am doing with the family holiday and report back on the number later.

The trip down was fine, but our lunch stop was [cue the dastardly music] Cracker Barrel. If you have never eaten at Cracker Barrel, let me assure you that it is all that is fantastically awful about “country cooking.” That being said, I was pleasantly surprised by the salad choices on the menu given that my previous experience with the house salad left a lot to be desired. (Read salad dressing and cheese served with a side of iceberg lettuce.) The smoked turkey breast on a bed of mixed greens (no iceberg lettuce) and other various raw veggies was good. The addition of a little cheese and a boiled egg rounded everything out nicely.

After everyone arrived, dinner plans had to be ironed out. “Out” being the operative word since no-one had had the time to get to the grocery store. And so we headed across the state line to a pizza joint called Lillian’s. I did well to just sound noncommittal about the choice when really I wanted to hit groan, loudly. I had visions of the whole week becoming one big meal centered struggle. Pizza??? How was I going to do “healthy” at a pizza joint?! When we got there, however, I discovered that they had a really great (possibly one of the best I’ve ever had) hummus with baked (baked!) pita and an incredibly robust Greek salad. I want to thank whoever decided on that menu. I don’t know who you are, but may the road rise up to meet you.

Yesterday morning I headed to the grocery store, in the pouring rain, where I was reminded that buying for three people is a huge difference from buying for ten. Yes I realize it may seem obvious when stated plainly like this, but you didn’t see my buggy. That was obvious. I could barely wield it by the time I was checking out. Thanks to the trip though, most of yesterday was fine as far as the diet goes.

I have to admit that I haven’t been perfect. At lunch on Saturday I had half a biscuit. At dinner on Saturday I had a sliver of pizza after I boxed up the remainder of the Greek salad, which I ate yesterday as part of dinner. Also, I’ve probably had a few extra snacks, mostly fruit, and a few more beers than I should be having, though I’m trying to stick to “light” versions. I’m trying to find a good balance between enjoying myself and doing what needs to be done a far as staying on track with short-term and long-term goals. To that end, I suppose it would help if I wasn’t a grump with everyone, including myself.

Leave a Reply

